Answered By: Veronica Bielat
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2021     Views: 27

Wayne State University rests on Waawiyaataanong, also referred to as Detroit, the ancestral and contemporary homeland of the Three Fires Confederacy. These sovereign lands were granted by the Ojibwe, Odawa, Potawatomi, and Wyandot nations, in 1807, through the Treaty of Detroit. Wayne State University affirms Indigenous sovereignty and honors all tribes with a connection to Detroit. With our Native neighbors, WSU can advance educational equity and promote a better future for the earth and all people.

Text from the Land Acknowledgement Resolution passed by the Student Senate on April 16, 2020.

Related Topics

    Can't find an answer?